Using Less to Save Money

This is something I have been working on quite a bit lately. Since I’m not working, I’ve been trying to cut expenses and save money by using less of items. It’s so easy to overuse items such as condiments, detergents, bathroom items, and the list goes on. I started to look at some of the items I use everyday and realized I wasn’t paying attention to how much I was actually using. I had tons of dressing left over after my salad was gone, my body wash seemed to be disappearing, and I was using items that I probably didn’t need such as fabric softener. This won’t save you tons of money, but if you could cut back and save a few bucks here and there it all adds up. Plus it creates less waste so it’s an easy way to be green. Here are a few tips to help you get started.

Using less condiments: I was tired of washing dishes and rinsing salad dressing, ketchup, BBQ sauce, salsa, etc… down the drain. Start paying attention to how much you’re using. If you can buy 1 less bottle of each item you typically use in a year the money will start adding up!

Using half of items: I started cutting my dryer sheets in half and have never noticed a difference and I get twice as many! If you use mayo on both slices of bread for a sandwich, try only one slice and see if it tastes any different. So many times we do things because we’ve always done it and don’t even think about it. 

Using less detergents and soaps: I’ve always used less laundry detergent and my clothes are clean and smell good (well I use non scented detergent, but you get the picture). I also decided I didn’t need to use fabric softener and my clothes are still soft. Try using less laundry detergent, dishwasher detergent, and soap when you do dishes. 

Reduce and reuse: I print tons of coupons and I mean tons! All that paper starts to add up! I go through all my junk mail, work papers, etc and if it has a blank side I use it to print on. We also made old milk jugs into watering cans for our garden. Be creative with recycling, it can definitely save you lots of money if you can think outside the box!

There are lots of items you can use less of, does anyone have any other tips to cut back and save money on items we could use less of?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

